top of page
Daya20_edited.jpg

People of Daya

Board of Directors

Fermeen Fazal, J.D. PRESIDENT

Shree Hardikar Nath, MPA, MSN,  PAST PRESIDENT

Ali ShahSECRETARY

Asha Desai, CPA, CO-TREASURER

Christa Jaganath, CPA, CO-TREASURER

Soha Haque, MS

Fatima Mohiuddin, LCSW

Lakshmy Parameswaran, MA, LPC*  

Viji Raman*
Mika Rao Kalapatapu, MS

* Founding Board Member

 

Advisory Board

Sarah Abraham, PhD

Sesh Bala

Chitra Divakaruni, PhD

Sindhu Idicula Giri, MD

Mary John, CPA

Anasuya K. Meyer, CFP®

Shazma Matin

Niraj Patel 

Dinesh Pejaver, PhD

Annu Rao Naik

Leeja Thomas, LCSW

John Ting, LLM

Stuti Trehan Patel, JD

Board/Advisory
Staff

Staff

Client Services Team

CLIENTSERV.jpg

Client Services Team

contact@dayahouston.org

This team provides compassionate, confidential, and professional services to survivors of abuse.

Minoo Advani

IMG_8315.jpg

Financial Coordinator

minoo@dayahouston.org

Minoo manages the details of Daya's robust financial system through accounting, data management, and quality assurance.

Joined Daya: 2021

Aparna Asthana

aparnaheadshot.jpg

Development Director

aparna@dayahouston.org

Aparna oversees Daya's community programs, manages donor and volunteer relationships, and leads fundraising efforts. 

Joined Daya: 2024

Barbara Le

Screen Shot 2023-05-16 at 4_edited_edited.jpg

Director of Finance & Administration

barbara@dayahouston.org

Barbara oversees Daya’s success behind the scenes, including budget development and management, financial compliance, and human resources. 

Joined Daya:  2018

Swati Narayan

sn headshot ug.jpg

Houston Director of AAPI Community Safety & Belonging

swati@dayahouston.org

Swati Narayan provides safety services, community programing, and interagency collaborations to build collective safety for the AAPI population.

Joined Daya: 2023

Autoosa Abadi, LCSW

Screen Shot 2023-05-16 at 4.16_edited.png

Director of Programs

autoosa@dayahouston.org

Autoosa leads Daya's major programs through planning, implementation, grants management, and impact assessment.

Joined Daya: 2017

 

Nusrat Ameen, PhD

Screen Shot 2023-05-16 at 4.12_edited.jpg

Senior Director of Legal Services

nusrat@dayahouston.org

Dr. Ameen leads Daya's legal program and elevates survivors' voices on local, state, and national advocacy forums, sparking initiatives that grow into core Daya programming.

Joined Daya: 2008

Ariel Ceeney

Ariel Headshot.jpg

Office Manager

ariel@dayahouston.org

Ariel organizes Daya's daily operations and provides comprehensive administrative support to the Staff and Board.

Joined Daya: 2024

Hareema Mela, LPC

Hareema.jpg

Interim Executive Director (5/1/24)

Director of Client Services

hareema@dayahouston.org

Hareema Mela leads the client services team in providing culturally specific mental health services and comprehensive case management to clients. As a trusted leader at Daya, she is serving at the helm of Daya during the organization's Executive Director search.

Joined Daya: 2017

Elisabeth Swim

Elisabeth Swim Headshot.jpg

Helpline Client Advocate

elisabeth@dayahouston.org

Elisabeth serves on the frontline, providing safety and support to survivors. Passionate about communication across barriers of language and ability, Elisabeth has also produced abuse-education tools used throughout our field. 

Joined Daya: 2021

To contact Board President, Fermeen Fazal,

please email contact@dayahouston.org

bottom of page